Virtual Community Center

AARP Virtual Tour of Mississippi Civil Rights Museum

Friday, Apr 9, 2021
From 11:00am to 12:00pm ET || 8:00am to 9:00am PT

Zoom
Online

Phone: 866-554-5382
Contact: AARP MS

This event is full.

civil rights  

Tour The Mississippi Civil Rights Museum to hear the stories of a Mississippi movement that changed the nation. Join AARP Mississippi and attendees from across the U.S. for a FREE virtual event on April 9 at 11:00 a.m. EST | 10:00 a.m. CT |9:00 a.m. MT | 8:00 a.m. PT - AARP membership is not required.

The Mississippi Civil Rights Museum promotes a greater understanding of the Mississippi Civil Rights Movement and its impact by highlighting the strength and sacrifices of its people.

Visitors will witness the freedom struggle in eight interactive galleries that show the systematic oppression of black Mississippians and their fight for equality that transformed the state and nation. Seven of the galleries encircle a central space called “This Little Light of Mine.” There, a dramatic sculpture glows brighter and the music of the Movement swells as visitors gather.

Once you complete your pre-registration, you will receive an email on the status of your registration. You will also receive an Event Reminder email.


Select a date to display events for that day.

Search Virtual Community Center Events

Find events by entering the name or search terms below.

3 characters long and above is allowed.
AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today

JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR

  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in Your Community
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner
JOIN NOW