Virtual Community Center

AARP Gardening at Home Series: How to maintain your Gardening Project

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2021
From 11:00am to 11:45am ET || 8:00am to 8:45am PT

Online

Phone: 877-926-8300
Contact: AARP Texas

This event is full.

Health experts encourage gardening as a form of exercise and a way to reduce stress.

garden - final

Join AARP Texas and attendees from across the nation for a free virtual event on April 27, 2021 at 11 a.m. ET | 10 a.m. CT | 9 a.m. MT | 8 a.m. PT. This will be a four-part online series about at-home gardening. - AARP membership not required 

Registration is required.

 

  • 10 a.m. to 10:45 a.m. CT Tuesday, April 13.
    Gardening 101: How to plan your Gardening Project

    Choose the right planter size and style to give your project the greatest opportunity for success. Know the difference between indoor and outdoor containers.

    No supplies are needed for this seminar.

    Platform: Zoom

     

  • 10 a.m. to 10:45 a.m. CT Thursday, April 15
    Gardening 201: Soil selection for your Gardening Project

    Differentiate between store-bought soil versus creating your own soil mixture at home through composting. Learn how to compost to create the natural fertilizer at your home, and know the best environment for creating your own compost.

    No supplies are needed for this seminar.

    Platform: Zoom

     

  • 10 a.m. to 10:45 a.m. CT Thursday, April 22
    Gardening 301: How to prepare a successful Gardening Project

    Prepare your gardening project by selecting the proper soil, fertilizer, container and accessories to personalize your indoor or outdoor project.

    Supplies: Indoor or outdoor pot for planting, starter plant or seeds to be planted (your own preference of seeds).

    Platform: Zoom

     

  • 10 a.m. to 10:45 a.m. CT Tuesday, April 27
    Gardening 401: How to maintain your Gardening Project

    We will discuss plant spacing for maximum growth to demonstrate how many plants fit into different containers and how to plant for a layered look.

    Supplies:  Indoor or outdoor pot for planting, starter plant or seeds to be planted (your own preference of seeds).

    Platform: Zoom

*Please note that our virtual event will be hosted on Zoom and any information you share on Zoom, including without limitations, comments and posts, will be subject to Zoom privacy policy and guidelines. To ask a question without posting on Zoom, email aarptx@aarp.org.



Select a date to display events for that day.

Search Virtual Community Center Events

Find events by entering the name or search terms below.

3 characters long and above is allowed.
AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today

JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR

  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in Dallas
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner
JOIN NOW