Tech Talk: Is the Internet Killing Truth?

Wednesday, Nov 2, 2022
From 3:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. Eastern Time

Zoom Webinar
Online

Contact: Senior Planet from AARP

This event is full.

Sit in as the founder of the News Literacy Project, Alan C. Miller, discusses his effort to build a national movement advancing news literacy.

Join Senior Planet from AARP and attendees from across the U.S. for a FREE virtual event on Wednesday, November 2, 2022, at 3:00 p.m. ET | 2:00 p.m. CT | 1:00 p.m. MT | 12:00 p.m. PT - AARP membership not required.

As difficult as it is to admit, we’ve all been duped by false or misleading information online. Many of us are feeling overwhelmed to the point of throwing up our hands and being distrustful of everything. Are we in a crisis? Is the Internet to blame? 

Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist, founder of the News Literacy Project and recent AARP Purpose Prize recipient Alan C. Miller knows firsthand how challenging it is for credible information to compete with content designed to inflame, exploit and mislead. Miller’s dedication to investigating and reporting the truth translated into the creation of a national movement to educate and empower the public to recognize misinformation. 

This conversation between Miller and Tom Kamber, executive director of Senior Planet and Older Adults Technology Services from AARP, will explore the urgent importance of educating the American public to be thoughtful consumers of news and information. You’ll also walk away with resources to help you confidently wade through a complex information system and better recognize the difference between fact and fiction. 

This event is FREE, but registration is REQUIRED. Please do not opt out of event-related emails, as you will be emailed a link to join the class via Zoom prior to the event.

For more information, contact Senior Planet from AARP at: virtual@seniorplanet.org

 


More from AARP in your Community

AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today

JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR

  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in Your Community
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner
JOIN NOW