Lecture: The Fabulous 50's... Or Were They?

Wednesday, Jul 13, 2022
From 6:30 p.m. to 7:45 p.m. Eastern Time

Brandlive
Online

Contact: Find Fun with AARP

This event is full.

Dive into the complexities of 1950's history in this One Day University lecture and live Q&A.

Join AARP and attendees from across the U.S. for a FREE virtual lecture on July 13 at 6:30 p.m. ET | 5:30 p.m. CT | 4:30 p.m. MT | 3:30 p.m. PT with American University's Leonard Steinhorn. AARP membership not required.

We often think of the Fifties as a bland and placid decade: an era of conformity and suburban Levittowns, of gray flannel suits for men and domesticity for women. And to some extent, that’s exactly the way it was. But underneath the surface something else was going on. We tend to remember eras with the sepia-toned images of memory, but the Fifties was a complex decade that in many ways planted the seeds of the culture wars we are living with today. In this course, Professor Steinhorn will dive into Fifties politics, music, media, and race relations. We’ll look at the Cold War and its contradictions, and the rise of suburbia and mass consumption. We’ll discuss popular culture and the impact of television, and we’ll see how the Fifties led to the Sixties.

This is a FREE event but registration is REQUIRED.
Questions about the event? Email: findfun@aarp.org




More from AARP in your Community

AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today

JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR

  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in Your Community
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner
JOIN NOW