Celebrate AAPI Month: Cultural Symbols of Chinese Gardens

Tuesday, May 18, 2021
From 2:00pm to 3:00pm Pacific Time

Online event
Online

Contact: AARP Oregon



Celebrate Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month with AARP Oregon and Lan Su Chinese Garden. Join AARP Oregon, Lan Su Garden and attendees from across the U.S. on Tuesday, May 18, 2021 at  5:00pm ET | 4:00pm CT | 3:00pm MT | 2pm PT for a virtual event exploring the cultural symbols of Chinese gardens. - AARP membership not required.

chinese garden final
Our special guest speaker will be Lan Su Chinese Garden’s Director of Communications & Education Venus Sun. Blending natural elements with architecture, art and design, Chinese gardens offer a unique window into Chinese culture, history, and way of thinking. 

About Lan Su Chinese Garden: The mission of Lan Su Chinese Garden is to cultivate an oasis of tranquil beauty and harmony to inspire, engage and educate our global community in the appreciation of a richly authentic Chinese culture. 

Lan Su Chinese Garden is one of Portland's greatest treasures and most interesting sites to see while visiting Portland. A result of a collaboration between the cities of Portland and Suzhou, our sister city in China's Jiangsu province that's famous for its beautiful Ming Dynasty gardens, Lan Su was built by Chinese artisans from Suzhou and is one the most authentic Chinese gardens outside of China. 
Much more than just a beautiful botanical garden, Lan Su is a creative wonder — a powerfully inspiring experience based on a 2,000-year-old Chinese tradition that melds art, architecture, design and nature in perfect harmony. 

About Venus Sun:
Born and raised in Taipei, Taiwan to a traditional Chinese family, Venus Sun developing her love for Chinese culture, literature, and arts at a young age. For the last 15 years, Venus studied, worked, and thrived in the industry of Chinese cultural programs, event planning, and nonprofit management. Currently the Director of Communications & Education of Lan Su Chinese Garden.

Please scroll down to register for the event. The event will take place over Zoom. The Zoom link will be sent to you closer to date with an event reminder. 






More from AARP in your Community

AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today

JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR

  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in Your Community
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner
JOIN NOW