Virtual Community Center

Tai Chi Thursdays

Thursday, Apr 8, 2021
From 5:00pm to 6:00pm ET || 2:00pm to 3:00pm PT

Via Secure Link
Online

Contact: Riley Franco

This event is full.

 

750 x 300 Registration Page Photo  (35)

 

This mind body class is designed to help quiet the mind by bringing attention to the breath. Join AARP Nevada, a certified instructor,  and attendees from across the U.S for a FREE virtual Tai Chi: Qigong class on April 8th at 5pm ET | 4pm CT | 3pm MT | 2pm PT – AARP membership not required.


Join AARP Nevada and ACE-certified instructor Mitch Menik for Tai Chi: Qigong. This mind body class is designed to help quiet the mind by bringing attention to the breath. Deep diaphragmatic breathing has been shown to lower blood pressure, reduce heart rate, decrease stress hormones, exercise the lungs, increases physical and mental energy, and improve immunity. This breathing technique is one of the body's strongest self-healing tools, and we'll work to practice utilizing this tool in these weekly sessions.

About the Class:

  • Participants of all experience levels are welcome.
  • Individuals who are caring for a loved one are strongly encouraged to attend - remember to take care of yourself! 
  • This class is delivered virtually via the Zoom platform and is free for AARP members and guests. Pre-registration is required and space is limited, so register today!
  • Each participant in this event must complete a waiver of liability as part of the registration process prior to participating. If you would like to invite a guest to this event, they will need to register themselves directly to agree to the liability waiver. Please consult your physician before beginning any exercise program.

_____________________________________________________________________________

 

About the Instructor

Mitch Profile Small


Mitch Menik, Certified Master Instructor

Mitchell G. Menik (Mitch) owns and operates  his Nevada-based business Mitch’s Yoga, Tai Chi & Bone Strengthening. Mitch is a Group Fitness Instructor in the areas of Yoga, QiGong, Meditation and specific Bone Strength, Stretch and Balance classes, primarily working with older adults age 55+.  

 

Mitch is certified as an American Council on Exercise (ACE) Group Fitness Instructor (accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA) that includes accreditation by the European Health & Fitness Association (EHFA)). Subsequently, he earned an ACE Senior Fitness Specialist Certification and an ACE Orthopedic Exercise Specialist.  Mitch is also certified by the American Tai Chi and QiGong Association as a Tai Chi and Qigong Master Instructor.  




Additional Dates:

Select a date to display events for that day.

Search Virtual Community Center Events

Find events by entering the name or search terms below.

3 characters long and above is allowed.
AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today

JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR

  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in Your Community
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner
JOIN NOW