Virtual Community Center

A Black and Asian Future, Tackling the Double Pandemic of COVID and Hate

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2022
From 3:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. ET || 12:00 p.m. to 1:00 p.m. PT

Online

Contact: AARP Events



Explore the history and future of Black and Asian coalition building.

Join AARP and attendees from across the U.S. for a FREE virtual event on September 21, 2022, at 3:00 p.m. ET | 2:00 p.m. CT | 1:00 p.m. MT | 12:00 p.m. PT – AARP membership not required.

AARP convenes community members to commemorate Juneteenth and Vincent Chin’s 40th Remembrance and Rededication. We will explore the history and future of multi-generational Black and Asian coalition building. In 2020, a deadly pandemic shut down the world as we knew it. The rise in anti-Asian hate and the killing of George Floyd highlighted the deep racial divide and inequality in the United States. While 2022 certainly looks different, it can be hard to know which way the pendulum will swing.

Where do we go from here? How might we build bridges for multi-generational Asian and Black solidarity? By coming together we can build towards our collective physical, mental and financial well-being.






AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today

JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR

  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in Your Community
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner
JOIN NOW