Virtual Community Center

Genealogy: A Guide for African Americans Tracing Their Roots

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2022
From 7:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. ET || 4:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. PT

Zoom
Online

Contact: AARP OHIO

This event is full.

This presentation by two genealogy educators will help you fill in your family tree.

Join AARP Ohio and attendees from across the country for a FREE virtual event on Tuesday, September 27, 2022, at 7:00 p.m. ET | 6:00 p.m. CT | 5:00 p.m. MT | 4:00 p.m. PT – AARP membership not required.

Are you interested in tracing your genealogy? This session, led by African American genealogy educators Kenyatta D. Berry and Deborah A. Abbott, Ph.D., will help you tap into records you may not think of. It also will offer guidance on how to overcome what’s known as the 1870 Brick Wall, a reference to the fact that censuses taken before the 1870 census did not identify people who had been enslaved by name. The presentation will help you understand what information you should look for to aid you on your journey, and where to find the information. It also will give you an opportunity to get your questions answered. 

Attendees will receive a copy of “The Family Tree Toolkit: A Comprehensive Guide to Uncovering Your Ancestry and Researching Genealogy,” by Kenyatta D. Berry, while supplies last.

This event is FREE, but registration is REQUIRED. Please do not opt out of event-related emails, as you will be emailed a link to join the presentation via Zoom prior to the event. 

For more information, contact AARP Ohio at ohaarp@aarp.org.

 

 




AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today

JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR

  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in Your Community
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner
JOIN NOW