The West Virginia CCC Museum was organized and opened in June of 2002. The museum is housed for the present in the old Quiet Dell schoolhouse in Harrison County, just off Exit 115 of Interstate 79. It is about 100 miles east of Parkersburg, about 110 miles north of Charleston and about 45 miles south of Morgantown. The schoolhouse is on the National Register of Historic Places and is open every day during the week, as is the museum. The CCC museum shares the building with a group of juried artisans who make and sell West Virginia heritage crafts. Museum signs on the Interstate on either side of Exit 115 and at the entrance direct one to the museum.
One room of the schoolhouse is used for the CCC museum. Unfortunately, space is of a premium. A replica museum barracks on this site is planned. The new barracks museum is needed to display other memorabilia and to provide a more adequate, climate-controlled museum environment.
Museum visitors experience the story of the CCC from onset of the Corps in 1933 to the final phase-out of the program in June, 1942. We also have several items that commemorate the 50th anniversary in 1983 and CCC reunion pictures beyond that year as well as recent achievements and milestones of local and state recognition of the CCC movement by the public and public officials. These efforts were the result of program efforts to generate public awareness and interest and were sponsored by the CCC Museum Association.
The museum displays represent the work and depict the accomplishments of the CCC in West Virginia and also in other states. Since there were camps in all the 48 states with similar CCC missions, there is a national overtone to the more than 230 items on display. These items range from camp photographs to tools and implements used by former CCC enrollees. We have over 75 donors who have provided over 300 items for the CCC museum. We are extremely grateful to these friends of the state CCC camp museum and give full public credit for their gifts. These generous folks come from all over the country, from Florida to New York State, and as far west as Missouri.
The Association is always looking for more CCC memorabilia and the additional funds needed to build the new museum barracks building. The CCC camp museum is open to the public 7 days every week except at Christmas and a few other holidays. Visitors have come from as far away as California and Canada and from countries in other continents to experience what our generous donors have provided. Some visitors leave behind donations of funds and memorabilia for the museum and plan to return another day to see their items on display along with others.... they always leave with more knowledge and a good impression of what the CCC left or did for them.
Thursday, May 13, 2021 at 12:00pm Eastern Time
Saturday, Apr 17, 2021 at 1:00pm Pacific Time
Sunday, Apr 18, 2021 at 4:00pm Eastern Time
JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR