The Grand Promenade and Side Trails
Running parallel with Central Avenue and Bathhouse Row from Reserve Street to Fountain Street, the half-mile Grand Promenade offers views of historic downtown Hot Springs, the Arlington Lawn, the hot springs cascade, quartz veins in the sandstone and tufa cliffs. The brick promenade has been a National Recreation Trail since 1982. It is a must-see for all visitors.
The north end passes the site of the first superintendent’s residence, demolished in 1958. The south entrance is below the impressive Hot Springs Rehabilitation Center. Built in 1933 as the second Army-Navy hospital, it has been used by the state for over 40 years.
The Grand Promenade started as part of a Public Works Administration project in the 1930s and was completed in 1957. Several park trails begin and end from the Grand Promenade