Sherman Public Library

2100 East Andrew Road
Sherman, IL 62684


About Sherman Public Library :

In 1994 the Williamsville Public Library received a Libraries for Tomorrow grant for $38,000 from the Illinois State Library to form a "demonstration" library which would serve the Williamsville School District. The new library, originally conceived as the Sangamon Valley Library District, shared space with the village clerk in the Sherman Village Hall. The library opened for business in February of 1994 with three tables, three computers, eighty books, and high hopes. However, the grant from the Illinois State Library stipulated that the district's continuing existence be placed before the voters in a refereundum.

With the failure of this referendum in April of 1995, Sherman citizens formed a committee to explore the means by which a library would be created to serve only the Village of Sherman. Enough signatures were collected to place the creation of the new Sherman library district on the November, 1995, ballot.

The referendum passed by a large margin, and we officially became the Sherman Public Library District on November 20, 1995. Original members of the library board were Bill Peterman, Randy Burge, Lynn Morford, Bill Jensen, Eileen Jones, Jackie Weatherford, and Francine Matthewson [-Black]. First board president was Lynn Morford.

By 1999 it was apparent that the Library had outgrown its home. We applied for and received a $250,000 grant in matching funds from the Illinois State Library. We also received a grant for $40,000 from Illinois First which enabled us to purchase the property for the new library. The architect chosen was Hanse-Utz, from Mattoon. The builder was Hat Construction, from Springfield. We broke ground in March of 2000, and construction started in August. The Sherman Public Library opened for business in its new home on April 1, 2001. Our square footage jumped from 400 to 5000.

Current members of the Board are Sharon Smith, Bob Shurig, Paul Stark, Leanne Smith, Mary Contri, David Grimm, and Julie Horton, who serves as president.

The first board hired Anita Walters to serve as the director of the new library district. She continues to oversee library operations, aided by a staff which includes Anita Kirby, Ted Morrissey, Mona Bentley, and Norma Davis, a volunteer.

Images provided by, Ticketmaster
Please use "Flag This Place" to alert us about content that is inappropriate or needs immediate attention. Nothing you submit will be shared with other site visitors.

Upcoming AARP Events

View All AARP Events »

Find information about getting a COVID-19 vaccine in your state. CDC information is available at; additional AARP information and resources are at En español, visite

AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today


  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in Sherman
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner