Sanilac County Historical Museum
228 South Ridge Street
This Historic Village, located on the 1853 estate of Dr. Joseph Loop, boasts eight historic buildings on a 10-acre campus. The country doctor's 20-room Victorian mansion is the flagship of the village that includes the Platt's General Store circa 1900, the 157-year-old Huckins One-room Schoolhouse, the 1883 Banner Pioneer Log Cabin, and what is probably the state's last remaining historic Barn Theater. The extensive Victorian gardens are the envy of local horticulturists and their important permanent exhibits include a marine shipwreck room and a separate dairy industry museum, along with old-time carriages, military and native American exhibits.
Our museum covers several acres of beautifully maintained grounds with lovely gardens, flower beds and a nature trail that all invite the visitor to wander peacefully and enjoy the surroundings. More than a dozen historic structures are open to the public. We have a General Store, One Room Schoolhouse, Barn Theatre and an historic church that is undergoing restoration.