The Negaunee Historical Society Museum was founded by a group of local residents in the early 1980s who were concerned with the preservation of the rich heritage and history of the area.
The original location of the museum was in the former Apostolic Lutheran Church on Prince Street. When the American Legion disbanded and vacated their lodge, the Negaunee Historical Society relocated the museum to its current location in 1990.
The land the museum rests on was the original site of the St. Paul's Catholic Church and cemetery. The congregation was established in 1862, with many prominent citizens counted among its parishioners. The log structure was destroyed by fire in 1868; years later the cemetery was moved and the Pellow family built the current structure as their family home in 1905.
Shown at right, Frank G. Matthews, Sr. (1902-1985) was a local historian who started the Negaunee Historical Society in 1984. A mining exhibit in his honor can be visited at the museum. A Frank Matthews Scholarship also is awarded to a Negaunee High School graduate each year to honor his commitment and dedication in preserving the history of Negaunee.
JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR