Mcmillan Memorial Library
302 East South Street
The McMillan Memorial Library began as the Overton Public Library in 1934, in a small room in the Chamber of Commerce building. In 1937 Overton Public Library became affiliated with the Rusk County Library System. In 1956 it became the McMillan Memorial Library in a dedication ceremony held by Dr. Bruce McMillan in memory of his wife, Mary Moore McMillan and his son, Bruce McMillan Jr. (Booden). It was Mrs. McMillan's wish that such a facility be built for the citizens of Overton and the surrounding area.
The Bruce McMillan Foundation renovated the McMillan Library in 1972 adding a non-fiction reading room to the existing facility and renovated again in 1989. Included in the last renovation was a larger parking area and adequate facilities for the handicapped. It essentially doubled in size with the addition of 1,783 square feet which included a new "Bruce McMillan Jr. Children's Reading Room" in memory of the foundation's namesake and a new "W.P. Moore Research-Reference Room" in memory of Mrs. McMillan's father. Come and experience the warm and friendly atmosphere and peruse the large book, audio and video collections.