Lake City-Columbia County Historical Museum

157 Southeast Hernando Avenue
Lake City, FL 32025


About Us:

Although the County Courthouse burnt down, destroying many important records that would reveal exact dates, our records indicate that the single story, rear portion of the building existed before the Civil War (1861 or earlier) and that the front, two-story section would have been built around 1880 after Mr. and Mrs. John Vinzant Jr. purchased the property.

The architectural style of the house is "Italianate", which though not ornate, presents characteristics that are both utilitarian and attractive.  Wide porches, tall windows and decorative woodwork are some of what typifies this style of architecture during the 1800’s. The floor plan is essentially a “four square” with the four main rooms downstairs being duplicated upstairs.

The building retains the character of a Victorian residence both outside and in.  Renovations have intentionally been made with every effort to preserve the unique qualities of the vintage structure.

The Museum is open to the public Wednesdays 2pm-5pm and Saturdays 10am-1pm. We offer guided tours (by appointment only), genealogical research, and public services via historical re-enactment.

Inside the Museum, the downstairs includes a "Formal Parlor" which is furnished with East Lake settee and chairs much as would have been in use in the late 1800’s.  Many of the Vinzant family artifacts are displayed in the parlor.  Numerous family pictures adorn the walls and the sewing machine that was used to make much of the girls’ clothing is kept here.

Please use "Flag This Place" to alert us about content that is inappropriate or needs immediate attention. Nothing you submit will be shared with other site visitors.
Explore the free AARP HomeFit Guide

Upcoming AARP Events

View All AARP Events

Photo of Memorial Day AARP Membership Sale.