LaFramboise Island Nature Area is a unique area along the Missouri River. The island is covered in trees and meadows, which are home to a variety of wildlife and bird species. Additionally, the island is mentioned in the Lewis and Clark journals as they passed through the area in 1804.
The island was known to Lewis and Clark as "Bad Humor" island due to a tense encounter with the Teton Sioux held nearby. The island's current name is attributed to Joseph LaFramboise. He built Fort LaFramboise at the mouth of the Bad River (west of the island). In later years, parts of the island were farmed.
As upstream dams changed the water flow in the Missouri River in the mid-1960s, the tree habitat on this sand bar island has changed to include species such as cedar, ash and Russian olive. Native cottonwood trees are also part of the island landscape, and once flourished due to the once natural flooding of the river.
Cross country skiing
JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR