Market Street and Park Avenue
In 1845 William Seymour and Dayton Morgan began quantity production of Cyrus McCormick's Harvester Reaper. Now the location of the oldest reaper factory in the world is home to beautiful Harvester Park. The park got its name in February 1970, when Harold Richards won the naming contest and received a $25 bond. Nestled on the banks of the Erie Canal this park is located on the corner of Water Street and Park Avenue. The two story Welcome Center located in the park features two handicapped accessible bathrooms with showers, a coin operated laundry, Harbormaster Suite, and a common room with cable television with DVD and wireless internet. Canal travelers can enjoy fresh coffee prepared by one of our eighty-five volunteers. Eleven pedestals can accommodate a total of twenty one tie-ups with dockside water and electric only steps from picnic tables and grills. A low level landing for canoes and kayaks makes a welcome site for those who choose to paddle to Brockport. The Center is open seven days a week from 10:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. during the regular boating season. The Walk/! Bike! Brockport Committee raised the money to bring the Bill Stewart metal sculpture, "Howdeee" to the waterfront.
Our Harvester Park/Welcome Center project won designation as a 2005 "Project of the Year" by the Awards Committee for the American Public Works Association. Harvester Park is a short walk from downtown, our "Victorian Village on the Erie Canal."