Colfax Area Historical Society

99 Railroad Street
Colfax, CA 95713


About the Society:

It was in July 22, 1985 that a small group of people decided that there should be a Historical Society that addressed the Colfax Area. After this group met, acting chairperson, Gertrude Paul, a long-time Colfax resident, who had previous experience with other historical societies in the Bay Area, decided to lead the organization of the group. An election was held, under the guidance of Dave Tucker of the Placer County Museum, and Bob Townsend of the Chamber of Commerce, and Penny Owens, proprietor of Colfax Deli & Pick-A-Flick Video Store, became the founding president of the Colfax Area Historical Society. Vice President (Programs) was Gertrude Paul. Recording Secretary was Jean Paoli. Treasurer was Phyllis Geary. Corresponding Secretary was Helen McNerney. And the Board of Directors included: Al Melenson, Jack Keyte, Dave Wilt and Ed Fritz DVM.

The 41 Charter Members were: Susan & Robert Ash, Myrtle Bell, Belinda Brewer, Lou K. Buechter, Dainna Bush, Jean Carroll, Sherry Chesny, Larry K. Cooper, Stella M. Cortopassi, Charlotte Price Curlin, Gwendoly M. Daniels, Marion & Paul Dutton, Edna, Myrtle & R. Findly, Katheryne & Wm. Fisher, Mike Flaherty, Mickey & Ken Fletcher, Dr. Ed Fritz, Mary (Jackie) Gardner, Phyllis L. Geary, Linda & Edward Griffin, Leola Harris, Sue & Bill Hughes, Catherine & Steven Hunter, Kathleen Keck, Vivian & Jack Keyte, Ingeborg Kuenzly, Elizabeth Landers, Chris & Bart Magoffin, Helen McNerney, Al;fred E. Melanson, Julia & Jose Ortiz, Penny & Richard Owens, Jean & Frank Paoli, Priscilla & H. Parrott, Gertrude & Fred paul, Sara & George Pink, Jack Pitchford, Emil A. Pruss, Peggy Reed, Gladys Rodriguez, Scott Rogers, Marge Shields, D. & A. Shuttleworth, Hilde Small, Robert Townsend, Helen Wayland, Richard Wayland, Helen E. Webster, Marie Weinand, Patricia Wilt, Larri Wolfe, Gloria Woodward, Kim Woodward, Mavis Wright.

The purposes of the group were defined and most of them still hold true. They included preservation of the local history by compiling stories about the people and their buildings, hold meetings featuring speakers on local history topics, share and preserve life stories of early residents, and start working on the establishment of a Museum in Colfax.

Revised By-Laws, in part, as of July 22, 1999, Officers shall be: President, Vice-President, Recording Secretary, Corresponding Secretary, Cobblestone Editor, Treasurer, Membership Office, which may consist of two members, Two Directors, and the immediate past President.

The Directors and Officers shall constitute the Executive Board.

Except for the Directors and the Immediate past President, officers shall be elected each year to serve a term of one year, or until their sucessors take office. Directors shall be elected for a term of two years, with one Director serving only one year for starters.

Images provided by, Ticketmaster
Please use "Flag This Place" to alert us about content that is inappropriate or needs immediate attention. Nothing you submit will be shared with other site visitors.

Upcoming AARP Events

View All AARP Events »

Find information about getting a COVID-19 vaccine in your state. CDC information is available at; additional AARP information and resources are at En español, visite

AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today


  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in Colfax
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner