South Grand Boulevard and Loughborough Avenue
Carondelet Park ranks as the third largest park in the City of St. Louis with a total of 179.71 rolling green acres. The park is dotted with picturesque lakes, rolling hills and inspiring scenery.
Carondelet Park has many interesting features, among these are inviting Horseshoe and Boathouse Lakes, both drained and renovated in 2000. The four picnic grounds are used extensively and are heavily used almost every day of the picnic season. The playground, lighted baseball diamond, softball diamonds, and tennis courts are in constant use. The bandstand was built in 1898 and its boathouse was completed in 1908.
Acquisition of the tract for a city park was the result of the wishes of residents of the far south side during the campaign for the creation of Forest Park in the early 1870s. They felt that Forest Park was too distant for their convenience and demanded a park in their end of the city. Provisions for parks on the north and south sides were added to the Forest Park plan and the combined Park Proposition won the approval of the voters.
Carondelet Park was purchased by the city in 1875. The park dedication took place on July 4, 1876, the hundredth anniversary of the signing of the Declaration of Independence.
3 acres of water, stocked with fish
5 acres of water, stocked with fish
3 Softball Fields (2 lighted)
1 Lighted Baseball Field
3 Soccer Fields (2 lighted)
5 Lighted Tennis Courts
4 Picnic Shelters
3 Barbecue grills
10 Horseshoe Pits
Path: 1.65 miles
5 Comfort Stations
40 foot flag pole