How to Recognize Outstanding Volunteers -- Nominate them them for the AARP Andrus Award!

Posted on 06/10/22

AARP Montana seeks nominations for the 2022 Andrus Award, the State’s highest community service award for those age 50 and over.

AARP Montana is seeking nominations for its 2022 Andrus Award for Community Service, which honors Montanans who volunteer their experience, talent and skills to enrich the lives of others.

To nominate someone for the Andrus Community Service Award, use this webform. The application deadline is September 9, 2022.

Past Winners of AARP Volunteer Appreciation Awards

The Andrus Award, named after AARP founder, Dr. Ethel Percy Andrus, recognizes inspiring individuals who share their experience, talent, and skills to enrich their communities in ways that are consistent with AARP's mission, vision, and commitment to volunteer service.

Montanans are known for their service to their communities. According to the latest statistics from the Corporation for National and Community Service, Montana ranks twelfth in the nation for volunteerism – nearly 32% of Montanans volunteer their time each year. With an average of 36.2 volunteer hours per capita, Montanans donated a total of 29.54 million hours of service, and the total estimated value of those millions of hours of service across Montana is $697 million per year.

The Andrus Award is AARP’s highest honor, given to an individual who embodies the principles of AARP’s founder, Dr. Ethel Percy Andrus. While her name does not carry the instant recognition that the organization she founded does, Dr. Andrus believed in the power of the people to do extraordinary things.

Nominations will be evaluated by AARP Montana based on how the volunteer’s work has improved the community, supported AARP’s vision and mission, and inspired other volunteers. The award recipient will be announced in the fall.

“In addition to individuals, we are asking community partners to nominate strong volunteer candidates, age 50 plus, who are making a difference in their communities, “ said AARP Montana State Director, Tim Summers. "We will also make a $2,500 donation to the Award recipient’s charity of choice."

Although AARP membership is not a requirement, nominees must be 50 or older and their accomplishments or service must have been performed on a volunteer basis and reflect AARP's commitment to enhancing the quality of life for all as we age.

The deadline for nominations for the Andrus Award is September 9, 2022. For more information, including criteria, go to

View past award recipients:

This story is provided by AARP Montana. Visit the AARP Montana page for more news, events, and programs affecting retirement, health care, and more.

More from AARP in Helena

Upcoming AARP Events

View All AARP Events »

Find information about getting a COVID-19 vaccine in your state. CDC information is available at; additional AARP information and resources are at En español, visite

AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today


  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in Helena
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner