AARP Kansas is accepting nominations for the Andrus Award for Community Service

Posted on 05/02/23

Andrus Award

The Annual Award Recognizes Those Who Make a Powerful Difference in their Community

AARP Kansas is now accepting nominations for its 2023 Andrus Award for Community Service, which honors 50+ Kansans who are sharing their experience, talent, and skills to enrich the lives of their community members.

“AARP Kansas is excited to shine a light on 50+ Kansans who are using what they’ve learned in life to make a difference in the lives around them,” said Glenda DuBoise, AARP Kansas State Director.

Nominations will be evaluated by a team of volunteers and staff at AARP Kansas based on how the volunteer’s work has improved the community, reflected AARP’s vision and mission, and inspired other volunteers. The award recipient will be announced in early fall.

AARP Kansas Andrus Award for Community Service nominees must meet the following eligibility requirements:

· Nominee must be 50 years or older.

· The achievements, accomplishments, or service on which the nomination is based must have been performed on a volunteer basis, without pay. Volunteers receiving small stipends to cover the costs associated with the volunteer activity are eligible.

· The achievements, accomplishments, or service on which the nomination is based must reflect AARP’s vision and purpose.

· The achievements, accomplishments, or service on which the nomination is based must be replicable and provide inspiration for others to volunteer.

· Partisan political achievements, accomplishments or service may not be considered.

· Couples or partners who perform service together are also eligible; however, teams are not eligible.

· Previous Andrus Award recipients are not eligible.

· Volunteers serving on the Andrus Award selection committee are not eligible.

· AARP staff members are not eligible.

· This is not a posthumous award.

Information about the award can be found HERE. Please contact AARP Kansas at or Mary Tritsch at for further information and a nomination form. The application deadline is July 15.

The AARP Andrus Award for Community Service is an annual awards program developed to honor individuals whose service is a unique and valuable contribution to society. Last year, AARP recognized 49 outstanding individuals and couples from around the country.

This story is provided by AARP Kansas. Visit the AARP Kansas page for more news, events, and programs affecting retirement, health care, and more.

More from AARP in Topeka

Upcoming AARP Events

View All AARP Events

AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today


  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in Topeka
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner