AARP Honors Martha LaFleur at Andrus Award Ceremony

Posted on 11/12/19


AARP New Hampshire honored about 80 volunteers at a celebratory lunch held November 7 at the Derryfield Country Club in Manchester.

The most prestigious volunteer award, the Andrus Award for Community Service, was presented to Martha LaFleur, a respected leader in her community of Greenland. Others honored were Andrus Award finalists; Driver Safety, Tax-Aide and Advocacy Volunteers of the Year; and Retired Educator of the Year.

The Andrus Award for Community Service, named after AARP’s founder Dr. Ethel Percy Andrus, recognizes outstanding volunteers who are making a powerful difference in their communities in ways that are consistent with AARP’s mission, vision and strategic direction.

“We are thrilled to bestow upon Martha LaFleur the most celebrated volunteer award given by AARP,” said AARP New Hampshire State President Marc Boyd. “Martha has spent an incredible amount of time and energy making her community a better place to live and is very deserving of this award.”

Martha was an art educator for 34 years, advocating for the arts in Keene, working to connect the schools to local institutions and city-wide events which would benefit and enrich the lives of children. She was also a co-director of The Samaritans of Keene which involved training volunteers, a 24-hour hotline and conducting educational outreach relative to suicide prevention.

Once retired, Martha became an AARP New Hampshire volunteer. She is a graduate of New Hampshire Senior Leadership class of 2011 and a member of the AARP New Hampshire Executive Council. In 2014, Martha received the AARP New Hampshire State Advocacy Volunteer of the year.

Martha earned an arts education degree from Keene State College and she and her husband, Allan, now reside in Greenland. Their two sons and five grandchildren keep them very busy.

Others honored at the volunteer recognition were:

  • Andrus Award Finalists: Laurene Allen of Merrimack; Jacqueline Creary of Nashua; Steve Simons of Stratham; and Kay Kerr of Littleton
  • Advocacy Volunteer of the Year: Mary Roberge of Manchester
  • Driver Safety Volunteer of the Year: Bob Slavin of Franklin
  • Tax-Aide Volunteer of the Year: Bill Dunn of Amherst
  • Retired Educator Volunteer of the Year: Barbara DiVenuti of Manchester

To get a constant stream of info about AARP New Hampshire, friend us on facebook and follow us on twitter.

This story is provided by AARP New Hampshire. Visit the AARP New Hampshire page for more news, events, and programs affecting retirement, health care, and more.

More from AARP in Concord

Tell Us What You Think

Please leave your comment below.

You must be logged in to leave a comment.

Upcoming AARP Events

View All AARP Events »

AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today


  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in Concord
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner