Virtual U Lecture: Asian Studies Part 2: The East India Company: Big Business, Big Government

Wednesday, Apr 21, 2021
From 7:00pm to 8:00pm Eastern Time

Online

Contact: AARP CT

This event is full.

Explore the history and legacy of the East India Trading Company. Join AARP Connecticut and attendees from across the U.S. for this FREE virtual lecture. This event will take place on April 21 at 7:00pm ET | 6:00pm CT | 5:00pm MT | 4:00pm PT - AARP membership not required.

 

 Head shot

 

 

 




  

 


Much is made of corporate influence in government and foreign policy today, but what does history tell us about the relationship between corporate interests and the state? A close look at the activities of the British East India Company reveals its substantial political prowess as well as the legacies it leaves behind.  Join Dr. Nita Verma Prasad, Associate Professor of History and Director of Asian Studies at Quinnipiac University for this 3-Part Series sharing her expertise in the social history of British colonial India.  Prasad has published on women in the British colonial courts, diasporic communities in the Indian Ocean region, and Hindu-Muslim relations on the subcontinent. She is currently working on a project that examines gender within the context of the British colonial medical establishment in India. 

3 Part Series 3/11, 4/21 & 5/12.  You can register for each of the 3 sessions in the series separately by going to www.aarp.org/ctevents.

Virtual U Image 

 

 






More from AARP in your Community

AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today

JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR

  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in Your Community
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner
JOIN NOW