The Arts: Athens and The Great Tragedian Playwrights - Aeschylus

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2022
From 1:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. Eastern Time

Zoom
Online

Contact: AARP CT

This event is full.

This series on how society, civilization and democracy were captured by three great tragic playwrights begins with the contributions of Aeschylus.

Join AARP CT and attendees from around the U.S. for a FREE virtual event on Wednesday, September 14, 2022, at 1:00 p.m. ET | 12:00 p.m. CT | 11:00 a.m. MT | 10:00 a.m. PT – AARP membership not required.

In this “Virtual U” series taught by Dr. Gilbert L. Gigliotti, a professor of English and Latin at Central Connecticut State University, we’ll discuss how the works of the three great tragic playwrights – Aeschylus, Sophocles, and Euripides – reflect the glories and tensions of Athenian society during the remarkable 5th century BCE between the Persian and Peloponnesian Wars.

This first class will focus on Aeschylus, the first great Athenian playwright, who wanted to be remembered not as a tragic poet but as a soldier who had fought in the battle of Marathon defending Hellenic civilization against Persian tyranny. His works, including the sole surviving ancient Greek trilogy, The Oresteia, reflect a moral, well-ordered universe with the democracy of Athens at its center.

You will need to register separately for each class you are interested in attending. The other two sessions are:

  • 10/12/2022 - Sophocles
  • 11/9/2022 -  Euripides

For more than 25 years, Dr. Gigliotti has also been the host of "Frank, Gil, and Friends," Tuesday mornings on WFCS 107.7 FM. His books and courses on Frank Sinatra, Ava Gardner and pop music belie his more traditional academic interests in American Puritan poetry, the Connecticut Wits and the literatures of ancient Greece and Rome.

This event is FREE, but registration is REQUIRED. Please do not opt out of CVENT emails, as you will be emailed a link to join the class by Zoom prior to the event.

For more information, contact AARP Connecticut at ctaarp@aarp.org.




More from AARP in New Britain

Upcoming AARP Events

View All AARP Events »


Find information about getting a COVID-19 vaccine in your state. CDC information is available at cdc.gov/coronavirus; additional AARP information and resources are at aarp.org/coronavirus. En español, visite aarp.org/elcoronavirus.

AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today

JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR

  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in New Britain
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner
JOIN NOW