Virtual U: Athens and The Great Tragedian Playwrights - Euripides

Wednesday, Nov 9, 2022
From 1:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. Eastern Time

Zoom
Online

Contact: AARP CT



Learn how society, civilization and democracy were captured by three great tragic playwrights. Join AARP CT, Dr. Gil Gigliotti and attendees from around the country for this FREE, virtual series taking place on Wednesday, November 9, 2022 at 1:00pm ET| 12:00pm CT| 11:00am MT| 10:00am PT

 In this series we’ll discuss how the works of the three great tragic playwrights – Aeschylus, Sophocles, and Euripides – reflect the glories and tensions of Athenian society during the remarkable 5th century BCE between the Persian and Peloponnesian Wars.

 The youngest of the three, Euripides, has no memory of the glorious triumph, celebrated by Aeschylus, of a civilized, and moral, democracy. Influenced by the sophists, his plays reflect the moral relativity displayed by an over-reaching Athenian empire wielding its power against other Greek city-states simply because it can…well, at least until Sparta wins the Peloponnesian War. (Oops, spoiler alert!) 

Register for two others in this trio at www.aarp.org/ctevents

  • 9/14/2022 - Aeschylus
  • 10/12/2022 - Sophocles

Gilbert L. Gigliotti is a professor of English and Latin at Central Connecticut State University and, for more than 25 years, the host of "Frank, Gil, and Friends" Tuesday mornings on WFCS 107.7 FM. He earned his PhD in comparative literature at The Catholic University of America. His books and courses on Frank Sinatra, Ava Gardner, and pop music belie his more traditional academic interests in American Puritan poetry, the Connecticut Wits, and the literatures of ancient Greece and Rome.






More from AARP in New Britain

Upcoming AARP Events

View All AARP Events »


Find information about getting a COVID-19 vaccine in your state. CDC information is available at cdc.gov/coronavirus; additional AARP information and resources are at aarp.org/coronavirus. En español, visite aarp.org/elcoronavirus.

AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today

JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR

  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in New Britain
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner
JOIN NOW