Virtual U: Athens and The Great Tragedian Playwrights - Aeschylus

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2022
From 1:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. Eastern Time

Zoom
Online

Contact: AARP CT



 Learn how society, civilization and democracy were captured by three great tragic playwrights. Join AARP CT, Dr. Gil Gigliotti and attendees from around the country for this FREE, virtual series taking place on Wednesday, September 14, 2022 at 1:00pm ET| 12:00pm CT| 11:00am MT| 10:00am PT

In this series we’ll discuss how the works of the three great tragic playwrights – Aeschylus, Sophocles, and Euripides – reflect the glories and tensions of Athenian society during the remarkable 5th century BCE between the Persian and Peloponnesian Wars.

 Aeschylus, the first great Athenian playwright, wanted to be remembered not as a tragic poet but as a soldier who had fought in the battle of Marathon defending Hellenic civilization against Persian tyranny. His works, including the sole surviving ancient Greek trilogy, The Oresteia, reflect a moral, well-ordered universe with the democracy of Athens at its center.

Register for two others in this trio at www.aarp.org/ctevents 

  • 10/12/2022 - Sophocles
  • 11/9/2022 -  Euripides

Gilbert L. Gigliotti is a professor of English and Latin at Central Connecticut State University and, for more than 25 years, the host of "Frank, Gil, and Friends" Tuesday mornings on WFCS 107.7 FM. He earned his PhD in comparative literature at The Catholic University of America. His books and courses on Frank Sinatra, Ava Gardner, and pop music belie his more traditional academic interests in American Puritan poetry, the Connecticut Wits, and the literatures of ancient Greece and Rome.






More from AARP in New Britain

Upcoming AARP Events

View All AARP Events »


Find information about getting a COVID-19 vaccine in your state. CDC information is available at cdc.gov/coronavirus; additional AARP information and resources are at aarp.org/coronavirus. En español, visite aarp.org/elcoronavirus.

AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today

JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR

  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in New Britain
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner
JOIN NOW