Virtual Mondays with Mark Twain in May: The Character of the Place

Monday, May 10, 2021
From 12:00pm to 1:00pm Eastern Time

Online

Contact: AARP CT



Learn about how Hartford, Connecticut shaped Twain's career and personal life.

mark twain
Join AARP CT and attendees from across the U.S. each Monday in May at 12:00PM ET | 11:00AM CT | 10:00AM MT | 9:00AM PT to discover and explore the history and adventure through these virtual sessions with the Mark Twain House & Museum. Each week offers a new page of history to uncover and discover. - AARP membership not required.


The Character of the Place | Monday, May 10, 2021 @12PM ET
When Sam Clemens first visited Hartford in 1868, he deemed it “the best built and the handsomest town I have ever seen.” But Hartford was more than just a pretty place–it was the richest city in the United States at the time. “Hartford dollars have a place in half the great moneyed enterprises of the Union,” Clemens noted, and his neighbor Harriet Beecher Stowe called it “fat, rich, and cozy.” This program explores the social, cultural, and economic dynamics of the Gilded Age through the city where Clemens helped coin the term itself, as well as the ways the city shaped his career and personal life.


Registration Required for all sessions:
5/3 Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
5/17 Seventeen Summers in a Garden
5/24 Mark Twain, World Traveler






More from AARP in your Community

AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today

JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR

  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in Your Community
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner
JOIN NOW