African American Family History Research

Thursday, Apr 8, 2021
From 6:00pm to 8:00pm Central Time

Online

Phone: 877-926-8300
Contact: AARP TX

This event is full.

AA Family History 

 

Pamela Bailey with Big Family Search will offer a series of workshops on how to begin an African American family history search. Join AARP Texas and attendees from across the U.S for a series of free virtual workshops on African American family history research on April 8, April 15 and April 22. The workshops will be held at 7pm ET | 6pm CT | 5pm MT | 4pm PT – AARP membership not required.

In The Big Family Search Workshops, participants will learn how the presenter is reuniting her own family, descended from American-born, enslaved ancestors, who were permanently separated by slavery in the antebellum south. 

 

The Big Family Search Workshop

Workshop participants will learn techniques for going beyond the 1870’s “brick wall” using family lore, music, and regional language to discover more about their own family histories. 

The Big Family Search Storytelling Workshop

In this workshop, participants learn how to bring their family narratives to life and tackles various ways to share difficult history while honoring and amplifying ancestral voices.

Technology, Tools, and Tips for Family History Research

In this workshop, participants learn to use many different resources to discover family history. The workshop provides tips for understanding DNA testing and utilizing technology, on-line search engines, genealogy websites, and free smartphone apps to research, record, and preserve family history.

Registration is required and the events will be hosted on Zoom.

 

Please note that our virtual event will be hosted on Zoom and any information you share on Zoom, including without limitations, comments and posts, will be subject to Zoom privacy policy and guidelines. To ask a question without posting on Zoom, email aarptx@aarp.org.




More from AARP in Dallas

Upcoming AARP Events

View All AARP Events »


Find information about getting a COVID-19 vaccine in your state. CDC information is available at cdc.gov/coronavirus; additional AARP information and resources are at aarp.org/coronavirus. En español, visite aarp.org/elcoronavirus.

AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today

JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR

  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in Dallas
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner
JOIN NOW