One Day University Lecture Series, Presented by AARP - The Real Stories Behind Famous American Photographs

Wednesday, May 19, 2021
From 6:30pm to 8:00pm Eastern Time

Streaming Online via Intrado
Online

Contact: Find Fun with AARP

RegButtonWYT
 

 

Explore the creation, diffusion, and reception of iconic photographs throughout American History. 

ODU America Final

Join AARP and attendees from across the U.S. for a FREE One Day University Virtual Lecture and live Q&A on May 19 at 6:30 pm ET | 5:30 pm CT | 4:30 pm MT | 3:30 pm PT with Professor Jennifer Keene of Chapman University. AARP Membership not required. 

Visions of America: The Real Stories Behind Famous Photographs

Can a photograph really change history or define an age? We live in an era dominated by Instagram and Photoshop, but curated images have shaped the way we understand the present and the past since the invention of photography. 

This lecture explores the creation, diffusion, and reception of iconic images, stories that ultimately render these images even more meaningful. Jacob Riis, Lewis Hine, James Van Der Zee, Dorothea Lange, Ansel Adams, Joe Rosenthal, Charles Moore, and Eddie Addams explored poverty, child labor, migration, civil liberties, war, and civil rights – shaping our vision of modern America.

Professor Keene will participate in a LIVE Q&A immediately following the pre-recorded lecture. A recording will be available to view after the live event concludes but you MUST register to receive the link.

Questions about this event? Email findfun@aarp.org

 


RegButtonWYT

 




More from AARP in your Community

AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today

JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR

  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in Your Community
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner
JOIN NOW