One Day University Lecture Series, Presented by AARP - Drive-Thru America: A Culinary History of the Fast Food Industry

Wednesday, Feb 10, 2021
From 5:30pm to 7pm Eastern Time

Streaming online via One Day University
Online

Contact: Find Fun with AARP

Event is closed or full.

Don’t miss out! Join AARP for our One Day University Lecture Series on Wednesday, February 10 with Georgetown University's Marcia Chatelain
 

ODU_new logo - color



Join AARP and attendees across the U.S. for a FREE One Day University Virtual Lecture and Live Q&A on February 10 a
5:30 pm ET | 4:30 pm CT | 3:30 pm MT | 2:30 pm PT with Professor Marcia Chatelain from Georgetown University - AARP Membership not required.


Drive-Thru America: A Culinary History of the Fast Food Industry and How It Shapes Our Lives

 

From the early days of the White Castle slider to the Chipotle burrito, Americans adore fast food. Fast food is about more than just a quick bite; fast food history helps us understand the transformations in the way we eat, work, and live.  In this presentation, historian Marcia Chatelain, author of Franchise: The Golden Arches in Black America, will take you through more than a century of business innovation, changing palates, and hours of commercials.  Fast food provides a lens for understanding what we value and how we savor it. Join in the conversation if you have an appetite for learning more about your favorite roadside stops, jingles, and French fries.

Professor Chatelain will participate in a LIVE Q&A immediately following the pre-recorded lecture. A recording will be available to view after the live event concludes but you MUST register to receive the link.

This event is FREE but registration is REQUIRED. Click on the REGISTER button below to reserve your spot!


Questions about this event? Email findfun@aarp.org




More from AARP in your Community

AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today

JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR

  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in Your Community
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner
JOIN NOW