Lecture: Inter-Korea Relations and North Korea

Tuesday, Jul 5, 2022
From 7:00 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. Eastern Time

Zoom
Online

Contact: AARP Virginia



Live from George Mason University in Korea. This session will trace the historical and political developments of the two Koreas.

Join AARP Virginia, OLLI Mason students, and attendees from across the U.S. for a complimentary class offered by the Osher Lifelong Learning Institute (OLLI Mason) on Tuesday, July 5 at 7:00 p.m. ET | 6:00 p.m. CT | 5:00 p.m. MT | 4:00 p.m. PT - AARP membership not required. 

The current status of Korea invites many questions: How did North Korea avoid the domino-like collapse of communism of 1989? Why can’t the two Koreas find the peace and reconciliation to be reunified? Why does North Korea want to possess nuclear weapons? What would be the most ideal approach towards North Korea to facilitate change? Addressing these questions, this session will trace the historical and political developments of the two Koreas.

Soyoung Kwon is currently a professor of Global Affairs and director of Security Policy Studies-Korea at George Mason University Korea. She also serves as associate fellow at the Yonsei Institute of Unification Studies of Yonsei University, Korea. Dr. Kwon received M.Phil and Ph.D. degrees in political science from the University of Cambridge.

This program is live on OLLI Mason’s Zoom account and will be recorded. You will receive a Zoom link to attend this class 24 hours prior to the class beginning. Do not opt-out of receiving emails as you will not get the Zoom link.

Please note that AARP will email you the link to the OLLI Mason Zoom platform on which the event will be hosted. Any information you share on that online platform will be governed by the privacy policy of OLLI Mason.






More from AARP in your Community

AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today

JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR

  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in Your Community
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner
JOIN NOW