OLLI Class 6: The Vietnam War, Fifty Years On

Monday, May 10, 2021
From 9:40am to 11:05am Eastern Time

Virtual Event
Online

Contact: AARP Virginia



The Vietnam War is eclipsed in the public imagination by more recent wars, yet, 50 years later, it continues to inform American politics, protest movements, health, legal decisions, and foreign relations.

vietnam war final

Join AARP Virginia and attendees from across the U.S. for a virtual complimentary class offered by the Osher Lifelong Learning Institute at George Mason University (OLLI-Mason) on May 10, 2021 at 9:40AM ET | 8:40AM CT | 7:40AM MT | 6:40AM PT. - AARP membership not required

OLLI-Mason provides intellectual and cultural experiences in a welcoming atmosphere to Northern Virginia residents in their retirement years. AARP Virginia is excited to collaborate with them to provide a sampling of their Spring semester!

Meredith Lair will discuss the lessons, legacies, and commemorative strategies of the Vietnam War. That war is unfamiliar to many young people who see it as a long-ago conflict. The Vietnam War is currently eclipsed in the public imagination by the recent Iraq and Afghanistan wars, yet, 50 years later, it continues to inform American politics, protest movements, health, legal decisions, and foreign relations.

Meredith Lair is an associate professor in Mason's Department of History and Art History, where she teaches courses on historical methods, the Vietnam War, and war and American society. She is the author of Armed with Abundance: Consumerism and Soldiering in the Vietnam War.

You will receive a Zoom link to attend this class 24 hours prior to the class beginning. Do not opt-out of receiving emails as you will not get the Zoom link. 

This event is live only and a recording will not be available after the event concludes.






More from AARP in your Community

AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today

JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR

  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in Your Community
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner
JOIN NOW