Webinar Wednesday: Figureheads & Ship Carvings @ Mystic Seaport Museum

Wednesday, Feb 24, 2021
From 7pm to 8pm Eastern Time

Virtual - via Zoom
Online

Contact: AARP CT



Join AARP Connecticut, the Mystic Seaport Museum and attendees from across the U.S. for this FREE virtual tour. This event will take place on February 24 at 7:00pm ET | 6:00pm CT | 5:00pm MT | 4:00pm PT - AARP membership not required.

 

Behind the Scenes:  Figureheads and Ship Carvings

Since ancient times and across cultures, decorations have adorned the bows of boats and ships, from the Nile and the Mediterranean to the far North Atlantic and Pacific Oceans.  Mystic Seaport Museum recently opened a reimagined exhibit showcasing a selection of the Museum's vast collection of these amazing artifacts.  Because of space limitations, 45 figureheads and dozens of other maritime carvings will remain in the Museum's vaults.

 

Join us for a virtual behind-the-scenes tour into the Mystic Seaport Museum's collections vault with Katherine Hijar, Luce Project Assistant Curator, as she highlights a selection of the Museum's figureheads and discusses the history and art of these fascinating maritime artifacts.

 

Another event will be held on 2/3/2021. Please register separately. 






AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today

JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR

  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in Your Community
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner
JOIN NOW