Movies for Grownups Screening: Manzanar, Diverted: When Water Turns to Dust

Friday, May 28, 2021
From 8:00pm to 10:00pm Eastern Time

Eventive
Online

Contact: AARP Movies for Grownups

This event is full.

This documentary weaves together the stories of Native Americans, Japanese-American WWII incarcerees, and environmentalists, who form an unexpected alliance to defend their land and water. 


RegButtonWYT

 


Join AARP Movies for Grownups and attendees from across the U.S. for a FREE screening of Manzanar, Diverted: When Water Becomes Dust on May 28 at 8:00 pm ET | 7:00 pm CT | 6:00 pm MT | 5:00 pm PT - AARP membership not required.

To register for the event, click register and follow the steps on the movie page. Please note that you MUST create an account on Eventive in order to access the movie. You can use this account for Movies for Grownups screenings on this platform going forward. If you already have an Eventive account, you may use the same credentials! 

From the majestic peaks of the snow-capped Sierras to the parched valley of Payahuunadü, “the land of flowing water,” MANZANAR, DIVERTED: WHEN WATER BECOMES DUST poetically weaves together memories of intergenerational women. Native Americans, Japanese-American WWII incarcerees and environmentalists form an unexpected alliance to defend their land and water from Los Angeles. Filmed over five years, this documentary captures stunning and intimate imagery of this valley, combined with archival gems and careful research to narrate this epic story of the American West.

Questions about this event? Email moviesforgrownups@aarp.org


RegButtonWYT




More from AARP in your Community

AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today

JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR

  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in Your Community
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner
JOIN NOW