International Civil Rights Museum Virtual Tour - Black History Month Event

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2021
From 4pm to 5pm Eastern Time

A Zoom Link will be sent to those who register.
Online

Contact: AARP NC

Event is closed or full.

Join AARP NC and attendees from across the U.S for a FREE virtual Black History Month event Tuesday, February 23rd at 4 pm ET | 3 pm CT | 2 pm MT | 1 pm PT – AARP membership not required. 

This is a dynamic virtual tour of the International Civil Rights Museum located in the historic F.W. Woolworth's five-and-dime site building. This site is a monument to the bravery visionary young advocates of full citizenship and social justice. It commemorates the Feb. 1, 1960, sit-ins at a whites-only lunch counter in Greensboro, by the N.C. A&T Four students. Their non-violent direct action challenged America to make good its promises of equality and civic inclusion enunciated in the Constitution.

This virtual tour explores the story of the civil rights struggle in the United States as part of the International Civil Rights Center & Museum's permanent galleries, The Battlegrounds. This engaging encounter includes captivating audio/video narratives, pictorial, artifacts, video re-enactments, and interactive components.

This virtual tour has limited participation and is provided to registrants at no cost. Once all slots are reserved, a waiting list will be created for a future tour opportunity.




More from AARP in your Community

AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today

JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR

  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in Your Community
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner
JOIN NOW