Lecture: Chautauqua: The Most American Thing in America

Monday, Dec 12, 2022
From 1:30 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. Eastern Time

Zoom
Online

Contact: AARP Virginia



You won't want to miss this fascinating lecture about the history of Chautauqua! Join AARP Virginia, LLI/NOVA students, and attendees from across the U.S. for a free virtual event on Monday, December 12, 2022 at 1:30 p.m. ET | 12:30 p.m. CT | 11:30 a.m. MT | 10:30 a.m. PT - AARP membership not required.

College, summer resort, health movement, religious assembly -- Chautauqua was a combination of all these elements. After the Civil War it dominated adult education and reached millions with its summer assemblies, reading clubs, and traveling circuits. Famous for its commitment to democracy, women's rights, and social justice, Chautauqua remained silent on the critical issues of race and class in America. It is the story of white, Protestant, middle class Americans struggling to reconcile their parochial experiences and attitudes with new, radical ideas about social progress. Instructor Barbara Stiffler has done extensive research on Chautauqua, including reading the Chautauquan Daily newspapers from 1917 to 1961 and delving into the Chautauqua Institution archives. 

This live program is offered by the Lifetime Learning Institute of Northern Virginia (LLI/NOVA), affiliated with the Annandale campus of Northern Virginia Community College. You will receive a Zoom link to attend this class 24 hours prior to the class beginning. Do not opt-out of receiving emails as you will not get the Zoom link.

Please note that AARP will email you the link to the LLI/NOVA’s Zoom platform on which the event will be hosted. Any information you share on that online platform will be governed by the privacy policy of LLI/NOVA.






More from AARP in your Community

AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today

JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR

  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in Your Community
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner
JOIN NOW