Music: Celebrating Stephen Sondheim

Friday, Nov 4, 2022
From 1:30 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. Eastern Time

Zoom
Online

Contact: AARP Virginia

This event is full.

Come learn about the amazing and influential work of Stephen Sondheim in American musical theater. 

Join AARP Virginia and attendees from across the U.S. for a FREE virtual event on Friday, November 4, 2022, at 1:30 p.m. ET | 12:30 p.m. CT | 11:30 a.m. MT | 10:30 a.m. PT - AARP membership not required. 

Stephen Sondheim was one of the most influential composers and lyricists in American musical theater, known for his versatility and the depth of his lyrics in such shows as “West Side Story,” “Sweeney Todd,” “A Little Night Music” and “Sunday in the Park With George.” This talk, a collaboration with the Lifelong Learning Institute at Virginia Tech, will review Sondheim’s life and work, including the inspiration he provided to other composers. We will hear Sondheim himself presenting and discussing his work, including his comments on the recent “West Side Story” film. Participants will receive extensive materials after the talk to further their appreciation for Sondheim and his music. 

Dan Sherman will be giving this lecture. He is a retired economist who found his passion in teaching adult education courses on theater and opera to a wide variety of groups throughout the Washington D.C. area and in Williamsburg.

This event is FREE, but registration is REQUIRED. Please do not opt out of event-related emails, as you will be emailed a link to join the lecture via Zoom prior to the event. A link to a recording of the session will be sent to registrants in a follow-up email.

For more information, contact AARP Virginia at aarpva@aarp.org.

 


More from AARP in your Community

AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today

JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR

  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in Your Community
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner
JOIN NOW