Black Art Matters: Virtual Cameron Art Museum tour and the US Colored Troops documentary

Thursday, Feb 25, 2021
From 7pm to 8pm Eastern Time

Zoom (Link Provided After Registration)
Online

Contact: AARP NC

Event is closed or full.

Join AARP, North Carolina's Cameron Arts Museum and attendees from across the U.S for a FREE virtual Black History Month event: Black Art Matters and US Colored Troops Battle documentary, February 25 at 7:00pm ET | 6:00pm CT |5:00pm MT | 4:00pm PT – AARP membership not required.

Black Art Matters presents Willie Cole’s Blackronyms blackboards with word prompts such as CIVIL, RIGHTS, WHITE, BLACK which encourage visitors to respond. The artist openly invites us to sit at one the exhibition’s school desks, study the blackboards, and ponder what democratic ideals and equality might be one day in America. Fearlessly, Cole challenges us to accept the racial biases and inequalities continuing to shape the socio-political climate and economic structure of the United States. The Artist Willie Cole (American, b. 1955) grew up in Newark, New Jersey, but traces his father’s family to Brunswick and Columbus counties. He attended the Boston University School of Fine Arts, received his Bachelor of Fine Arts degree from the School of Visual Arts in New York in 1976, and continued his studies at the Art Students League of New York from 1976 to 1979. He is the recipient of many awards, including the 2006 winner of the David C. Driskell Prize, the first national award to honor and celebrate contributions to the field of African-American art and art history. In addition to the exhibit, you will hear and see the US Colored Troops documentary and see how the sculpture became a reality at Cameron Art Museum in Wilmington, NC. This event will be hosted on Zoom and registrants will receive a link to the event upon registration.




More from AARP in your Community

AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today

JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR

  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in Your Community
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner
JOIN NOW