Author Talk: The Forgotten Story of Lesbian Activist Eve Adams

Wednesday, Jun 22, 2022
From 3:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. Eastern Time

Zoom Meeting
Online

Contact: Senior Planet From AARP

This event is full.

Hear from author and historian activist Jonathan Ned Katz as he uncovers a forgotten story through this recent book: The Daring Life and Dangerous Times of Eve Adams. Join Senior Planet from AARP and attendees from across the United States for a FREE webinar on June 22, 2022 at 3:00 p.m. ET | 2:00 p.m. CT | 1:00 p.m. MT | 12:00 p.m. PT - AARP membership not required 

Join guest speaker and historian activist Jonathan Ned Katz as he uncovers the forgotten story of the radical lesbian activist Eve Adams and her long-lost book Lesbian Love 

Born into a Jewish family in Poland in 1891, Eve Adams emigrated to the United States in 1912, took a new name, befriended anarchists, sold radical publications, and ran lesbian-and-gay-friendly speakeasies in Chicago and New York. Then, in 1925, Adams risked all to write and publish a book titled Lesbian Love, catching the attention of the young J. Edgar Hoover and the US Bureau of Investigation. 

Katz recently published the first ever biography of Eve Adams, The Daring Life and Dangerous Times of Eve Adams, where he recovered the extraordinary story of an early, daring activist. Join this special talk lead by Katz all about Eve Adams and the legacy of her advocacy and courage. 




More from AARP in your Community

AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today

JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR

  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in Your Community
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner
JOIN NOW