Write to Thrive Virtual Class - Leading the Way

Tuesday, Jun 28, 2022
From 7:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. Mountain Time

Online

Contact: AARP Wyoming

This event is full.

The Write to Thrive Instructors, Matt and Lucy, want to help people live more fully, more joyfully, and elegantly, using reflective and creative writing to foster new growth and self-nourishment.

Join AARP Wyoming and attendees from across the U.S. for this free virtual event on Tuesday, June 28, 2022 at 9:00 p.m. ET | 8:00 p.m. CT | 7:00 p.m. MT | 6:00 p.m. PT. AARP membership is not required.

Research on expressive writing shows that writing can have myriad benefits for mental, emotional, and even physical wellbeing.

Join AARP for this four-week creative writing class for mind, body, and soul! (Registration is required for each individual session). This is a brand new course and AARP members and their guests will have first access!

This four-week online program incorporates expressive writing practices, as well as practices from the fields of gratitude, mindfulness, self-compassion, and the science of stress and burnout, all with the hope of helping you flourish, even in the midst of challenging times.

Sessions

June 28, Leading the Way In our final session, we will focus on vital moments in an experience of personal emergence, growth, and transformation. We will look at the skills and talents that came to the forefront to guide our transformative actions. Then we will imagine ourselves leading others through a similar transformation, and we will write a “prow of the ship” inspirational speech to be offered to others setting out on their own journey. Registration coming soon.

Class Goals

  • Mental and emotional wellbeing
  • Connection 
  • Being with grief and vulnerability
  • New understanding and perspective on challenges and stress
  • Changing your narrative of a difficult time
  • Understanding your values.

Meet the Instructors

Lucy and Matt have been writing partners, coaches, and friends for over a decade. While teaching and coaching others, in their own writing partnership they discovered that guided reflection and creation helped each of them live and work more fully. They have developed Write to Thrive in order to share the work that they know--from their first-hand experience as well as research into expressive writing practices--can help you feel better equipped to emerge from recent challenges with a sense of well-being, joy, and enthusiasm for the next chapter. They live in Wyoming and Colorado.




More from AARP in your Community

AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today

JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR

  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in Your Community
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner
JOIN NOW