The "Whats" of Dementia

Wednesday, Mar 24, 2021
From 10:00am to 11:30am Mountain Time

Online

Contact: AARP Utah

This event is full.

dementia (3) 

 

Join AARP Utah and attendees from across the U.S. for a FREE virtual workshop about dementia on Thursday, March 24th at 12:00 pm ET | 11:00 am CT | 10:00 am MT | 9:00 am PT - AARP Membership not required. This workshop will be presented by Laura Owen-Keirstead  (see short bio below)

We will cover the following:

  • What is Dementia?  Discuss the definitions of dementia and the most common types of dementia.
  • What does it look like?  View actual brain scans and video.
  • What are the ways to communicate with a person with dementia?  View videos of common dementia behaviors and how to manage them through verbal and non-verbal methods.  

Laura Owen-Keirstead earned a BS Degree in Child and Family Studies and a BSW degree in Social Work from Weber State University and a Master's Degree in Mental Health Counseling from the University of Phoenix.  She has over 30 years of experience working in the social service field. 




More from AARP in your Community

AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today

JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR

  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in Your Community
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner
JOIN NOW