AARP Presents "And in this Corner: Cassius Clay"

Sunday, Apr 11, 2021
From 4:00pm to 6:00pm Central Time

Intrado
Online

Contact: AARP IL

This event is full.

 M. Ali

 

"And in this Corner: Cassius Clay" is the story of the young man who would become Muhammad Ali.
Enjoy the play from the comfort of your own home! Join AARP Illinois and attendees from across the U.S. for a FREE virtual event on April 11, 2021 at 5 pm ET | 4 pm CT | 3 pm MT  | 2 pm PT - AARP Membership is not required.

  

 RegButtonWYT 


"And in this Corner: Cassius Clay" is the story of the young man who would become Muhammad Ali. From his relationship with a white police officer who introduced him to boxing as a kid in Jim Crow-era Louisville to his gold medal-winning performance in the 1960 Rome Olympics. Cassius holds onto the faith that his potential is unlimited. But it is the friends from his childhood who are becoming Freedom Riders who ultimately challenge him to understand that there is more to life than personal success and he must use his gifts to work for the good of his community.

 

Speakers will include: Maryum Ali, Muhammad Ali's oldest daughter, Social Worker, Public Speaker, Spokesperson for the Parkinson's Unity Walk Julia Flood, Artistic Director of the Metro Theater Company Idris Goodwin, Playwright Candace Mueller, Diagnosed with Parkinson's at 59 years old The show runs 70 minutes and will be followed with a Q&A with some of the actors as well as someone from the Parkinson's Association.

 

 

RegButtonWYT




More from AARP in your Community

AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today

JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR

  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in Your Community
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner
JOIN NOW