Virtual Quilt Display with Hastings Museum: Session 2 Crazy Quilts, Embellishments and Cigar Ribbons

Wednesday, Feb 10, 2021
From 11am to 11:30am Central Time

Online

Contact: AARP Nebraska

Join AARP Nebraska and attendees from across the U.S for a FREE virtual event to learn more about the history of quilt making on February 10 at 12pm ET | 11am CT | 10am MT | 9am PT – AARP membership not required. 

Depending on whom you ask, there are as few as 24 traditional quilt patterns to over 400.  No matter the pattern, one thing is certain; each quilt illustrates the maker’s ability to meld colors and prints together into a cohesive design.  Along the way, they may incorporate pieces of a personal story or memory that makes the quilt more meaningful to them or the person for whom they are making it.

In this four-part series, Teresa Kreutzer-Hodson will share the beauty and history of some of the fantastic quilts held in the Hastings Museum’s permanent collection. Session two will look at the pieced designs of crazy quilts. So many materials have been used to make these eclectic throws.  Teresa will share on of the more unique pieces in the collection made from cigar ribbons, as well as some of the fun ways these types of quilts were embellished.  

Join AARP for these virtual events being released on the AARP Nebraska FaceBook page every Wednesday in February at 11am central time.  

 



AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today

JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR

  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in Your Community
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner
JOIN NOW