Health and Wellness: The Connection Between Your Brain and Bones

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2022 at 10:00 a.m. Mountain Time to
Wednesday, Nov 9, 2022 at 11:00 a.m. Mountain Time

Online

Contact: AARP Colorado

This event is full.

This four-part series will explore the brain-bone connection and ways you can protect and strengthen your bones through exercise as a means of protecting the health of your brain.

Join AARP Colorado and attendees from across the U.S. for a FREE virtual event on Wednesdays October 19th through November 9th, at 12:00 p.m. ET | 11:00 a.m. CT | 10:00 a.m. MT | 9:00 a.m. PT - AARP membership not required. This event is part of a series.

Ongoing research is examining the relationship between brain and bone health -- how findings on bone can help us improve cognitive disorders like dementia, and how the brain's relationship to the skeletal system can contribute to improving conditions of bone fragility like osteoporosis.  

Each week we will explore a different region of the body, emphasizing the movement experience, providing tips and demonstrating exercises so you can follow along! This first class will concentrate on the feet, knees and hips. You’ll want to dress in comfortable clothing and have water handy. Please consult your physician before beginning any new exercise regimen.  

  • The 10/19 class will concentrate on the feet, knees and hips.
  • The 10/26 class will focus on the shoulders, neck and wrists
  • The 11/2 class will focus on the back, trunk and abs.
  • The 11/9 class will focus on the full body.

This event is FREE, but registration is REQUIRED. Each participant must complete a waiver of liability as part of the registration process. Please do not opt out of event-related emails, as you will be emailed a link to join the class via Zoom prior to each week's event.  

The classes will be led by movement educator Rebekah Rotstein, an industry leader in Pilates, bone health and movement education. She is the founder of Buff Bones®, a medically-endorsed exercise system for bone and joint health with trained instructors in more than 30 countries.  Rebekah is a member of the Ambassador Leadership Council for the Bone Health and Osteoporosis Foundation and an ambassador for American Bone Health and worked as a partner of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Office of Women’s Health. She recently served as part of the Bone Health Working Group for the Society for Women's Health and Research.

For more information, contact AARP Colorado at coaarp@aarp.org.


More from AARP in your Community

AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today

JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR

  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in Your Community
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner
JOIN NOW