100 Years of American Food Fads & Innovations

Tuesday, May 25, 2021
From 6:30pm to 7:30pm Eastern Time

Online via Intrado
Online

Contact: AARP Find Fun

This event is full.

RegButtonWYT 


Enjoy 100 Years of American Food with the Food Historian Lecture Series, Presented by AARP.

food fad final

Join AARP and attendees from across the U.S. for a FREE virtual lecture on 100 Years of American Food Fads & Innovations on May 25 at 6:30 pm ET | 5:30 pm CT | 4:30 pm MT | 3:30 pm PT with Francine Segan - AARP Membership not required. 

Discover the origins of American classics such as Pineapple Upside-Down Cake and Caesar Salad, how feminism and the refrigerator gave us Icebox Cake and “Sorority Salad,” and why Prohibition sparked a candy boom.  Learn about Depression innovations like Mystery Cake and Mock Apple Pie, ‘50s backyard BBQ and cocktail party craze, the Jackie and Julia influenced French ‘60s.  We'll end with the cutting edge trends popular today like Molecular Gastronomy and 3D-printed food. 

Join us LIVE for a lecture, followed by a Q&A where you can ask your questions.

This is a FREE event, but advanced registration is required. Questions about this event? Email findfun@aarp.org.

 


RegButtonWYT



More from AARP in your Community

AARP Member Card

Join or Renew Today

JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR

  • Immediate access to your member benefits
  • Discounts on travel and everyday savings
  • Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
  • An ally on the issues that matter most to you in Your Community
  • Free membership for your spouse or partner
JOIN NOW