New Law Gets Tough on Distracted Drivers
A new state law supported by AARP Oregon cracks down on distracted driving. Drivers cannot touch their phones behind the wheel. Hands-free phone usage is still allowed.
The law took effect Oct. 1, along with higher fines. Previously, police officers had to see a driver speaking into a phone or texting in order to issue a citation. A state task force recommended the stricter law when traffic fatalities increased after a decade-long decline. In 2016, 495 people died on Oregon roads, a 58 percent increase in three years.
The AARP Smart Driver course covers current rules of the road and defensive driving techniques. For more information, go to aarp.org/auto/driver-safety.
Tell Us WhatYou Think
FIND IT FAST
JOIN OR RENEW
- JOIN FOR JUST $16 A YEAR
- Immediate access to your member benefits
- Discounts on travel and everyday savings
- Subscription to the award-winning AARP The Magazine
- An ally on the issues that matter most to you in Salem
- Free membership for your spouse or partner
- JOIN/RENEW NOW